Geografie und Klima

Geografische Stelle:
Athen, die Hauptstadt und die größte Stadt Griechenlands ist eine der antikesten Städte der Welt mit einer Geschichte, die auf das Jahr 3200 v. Chr. zurückführt.
Athen liegt in Attika und hat 3.181.000 Bewohner nach der Volkzählung des Jahres 2011. Hier wohnt fast ein Drittel der Bevölkerung des Landes. Außer Athen gehören Attika auch die Städte von Piräus, Elefsina, Megara, Lavrio und Marathon, ein kleiner Teil von Peloponnes und die Inseln Salamina, Ägina, Poros, Hydra, Spetzes, Kythira und Antikythira.
Die Tiefebene von Attika, wo Athen und Piräus liegen, ist mit fünf Bergen umgeben: Aigaleo-Oros und Poikilo-Oros am Westen, Parnitha und Penteli am Norden und Hymettos am Osten. Am Süden liegt der Saronische Golf.
Klima: Athen ist nicht nur für seine Monumente, sondern auch für seinen hellblauen Himmel und sein mildes, mediterranes Klima berühmt. Athen hat meistens eine Durchschnittstemperatur 18,3° C und sonnige Tage auch in der Mitte des Winters. Der Sommer in Athen ist besonders warm, die Temperatur ist oft mehr als 40° C. Der wärmste Monat ist Juli, denn im August kühlen die Passatwinde die Stadt ein bisschen. Im Winter schneit es selten in Athen, besonders kalt ist der Monat Januar.

Geography & Climate

Geographical Location:
Athens, the capital and the largest city of Athens, is one of the most ancient cities of the world, with its history going back to 3200 BC.
It is in the Region of Attica and with 3,181,000 residents, according to the census of 2011, it gathers almost the 1/3 of the country’s population. Apart from Athens, at the region of Attica belong the cities of Piraeus, Eleusis, Megara, Lavrio and Marathon, as well as a part of the Peloponnese and the islands of Salamina, Aegina, Poros, Hydra, Spetses, Kythira and Antikythira.
The basin of Attica, where Athens and Piraeus are located, is included by five mountains: mount Aigaleo and Poikilo mountain on the west, Parnitha and Penteli on the north and Hymettus on the east, while on the south Athens is outlined by the Saronic gulf.
Climate:
Athens, apart from its famous monuments, is also famous for its deep blue sky and the moderate Mediterranean climate. Mild for the larger part of the year, it provides Athens an average annual temperature of 18.3 C and days with sunshine even in the heart of winter. Known are the particularly warm summers, with the temperature often exceeding even 40 C. The warmest month is July, since in August the strong winds cool the city to a certain extent. Regarding winter, even though snow is a rare visitor to the Greek capital, the cold is really chilly especially in January.